Using shaders in code

edited September 2010 in Help request
In the tutorials, there's an example of defining and using a shader within the config files. How would one go about doing so in code?

For example, suppose we have two shaders respectively named SA and SB defined in config files. How would I go about loading and alternating between them?
shaderA = orxShader_CreateFromConfig("SA");
shaderB = orxShader_CreateFromConfig("SB");

Or perhaps...
orxViewport_AddShader(p_Viewport, "SA");

Beyond that, I'm not entirely sure. I'm rather new to shaders, and while there are nice tutorials out there on how to write GLSL, I'm still at a loss sometimes as to how to actually activate them.

Oh, and is there a straightforward way to determine whether a user's computer actually supports shaders? I imagine simply trying to load/enable one and checking the results might do the trick.

Comments

• edited September 2010
    Shaders are a bit of a mystery to me as well. But there are a few shader functions for objects. orxObject_AddShader, orxObject_RemoveShader, orxObject_EnableShader and orxObject_IsShaderEnabled. Have you looked at them?

I think most recent graphics card support shaders. GPU-Z is a nifty tool for detecting which shader model you support.
  • edited September 2010
    Oh, gotcha, I didn't realise you could attach the shaders directly to objects. The tutorial led me to believe they could only be attached to viewports, which may have been the cause of my confusion.

Still can't get the shader to work on my Player object, but that might just be a function of my old laptop (which is a Linux machine, so GPU-Z unfortunately won't work).

Thanks for the info, hopefully I'll figure this out.
  • edited September 2010
    Hi!