Collisions

edited November 2014 in Help request
My brief experience with 2d game programming is that you mark areas that are collidable with polygons. You can also set up entire objects as collidable, like a player. I've seen it done different ways, but I don't know how it's done in orx. sausage showed me how to set the polygons in inkscape and export a mesh for orx (also using tiled, I think). That's pretty cool. But what do I do with that? How do I turn on collision? Knolan showed me how to set a callback for it. Remember, I don't know squat about collisions for orx yet. Notta! Nuttin! Let me know if I'm making any sense here. I'm not good at explaining...

Comments

• edited November 2014
    You don't really turn it on or off*, basically the orxOBJECT can have a Body property, if it is set it will "collide." All the objects that do not have a Body property set will not collide.

If the Body have any BodyPart that have the Solid property set to truth, the physic impact will occour, otherwise only an event will be sent.

The BodyPart can be one of three types Box, Sphere or Mesh (or Polygon). It is the part that hold the collider form (in other words, the points that define where it will collide).

* In a way you do, you need to init the physics module and enable the simulation:

orxPhysics_Init();
    orxPhysics_EnableSimulation(orxTRUE);
  • edited November 2014
    Ha! Ok, now I'm starting to understand. I'm going to try what you've said and wee what happens. Thanks for your input!
  • edited November 2014
    OK, I got my object to push a box around. That's cute. I'll have to play with it some more. For anyone else interested here's some more detail. This is just for one object:
    ;========== helmet object ================
    [helmetGraphic]
    Texture = helmet.png

[helmetPart]
    Type        = box
    Restitution = 0.0
    Friction    = 1.0
    SelfFlags   = 0x0001; <= This defines our collision flags