How to achive these in ORX?

jimjim
edited January 2012 in General discussions
Hi everyone,

I am new to ORX and this forum, I was doing some experiment with SDL and OpenGL a few weeks ago, then I found ORX and now I am going to develop 2D games using ORX. I think this is a fantastic 2D engine for C++ lovers. I have checked the basic tutorials and I am impressed. I am not very good in OpenGL, i just learned OpenGL from nehe site, so my OpenGL knowledge is very outdated. I have couple of question regarding ORX.

1. Does ORX support only 3 kind of blending (add,alpha and multiply)?
If not then how to do other kind of blending?
If yes, then is it possible for me to add OpenGL blending function in ORX without building it from source?

2. How to apply this blending function in ORX?

glBlendFunc(GL_DST_ALPHA,GL_ZERO);

3. Is alpha test possible in ORX? I have not found anything about alpha test or discarding fragments in ORX like
glEnable(GL_ALPHA);
glAlphaFunc(GL_GEQUAL,.01);

I know that this kind of things is possible with shader but I don't know shader and my current hardware does not support shader. If these are not possible without shader then it is okay, I will still continue with ORX but then the project I was working with (SDL + OpenGL) will have to be postponed until I learn shader or buy new hardware. But I want to finish the project as soon as possible with ORX because ORX provide almost everything I need to develop this game, other wise I have to work a lot on low level things, I am making this game for Linux and Windows.

One more request I would be very grateful if anybody could show me how to add custom OpenGL rendering code in ORX, I have found a post on the forum regarding this but I didn't get it, as my OpenGL knowledge is very poor. Please forgive me if my I have written anything wrong.

Thank you.

Comments

• edited January 2012
    jim wrote:
    Hi everyone,

Hi jim and welcome here!