dynamic display size

edited October 2010 in Help request
hi everyone.
I'm pretty new to orx, I hope my question is not too trivial.

I would like to achieve the following:
instead of hardcoding the display width and height I would like to use the current width and height of the user in the fullscreen mode.
is this possible using an ini file?

Another thing:
in the tutorial I set fullscreen attribute to true in the orx.ini file. the examples will start full screen. however after a moment game window will be minimized and the console window will come to the front. is this normal? is it not possible to have an full screen game when using the console window?

thx in advance :D

Comments

• edited October 2010
    tdomhan wrote:
    hi everyone.

Hi and welcome here! =)
    instead of hardcoding the display width and height I would like to use the current width and height of the user in the fullscreen mode.

Not directly through config, I'm afraid. You can use orx's display function to query the available modes but the display has to be initialized first. Also you can't query the desktop mode right now but I can easily add this feature if you need it. When that's done, then orx could support the current desktop mode through the ini. Shouldn't be too hard to do, instead of using hardcoded default values the current desktop mode would be used.
    Unfortunately my computer is with my furnitures, "somewhere" between Canada and USA and I have no idea when they'll be delivered to us. :(
    Another thing:
    in the tutorial I set fullscreen attribute to true in the orx.ini file. the examples will start full screen. however after a moment game window will be minimized and the console window will come to the front. is this normal? is it not possible to have an full screen game when using the console window?

Ah, it's the first time I hear about this issue, I generally have no trouble with console popping through fullscreen. Is it when debugging or when running from anywhere?