Windowed ORX

edited September 2011 in General discussions
Hi all,

I was wondering if it could be possible to use orx inside a child window in Win32.
I mean I'd like to use it in a control to make previews of animations, view created maps and so on.

I've got an idea but it's a quick and dirty way...my idea is to start a clean orx application and once the "game windows" is displayed I could find the window, build a parent frame and then make the "game windows" as a child of my parent frame.
I'd like to get rid of the console window and use mine instead.

I guess/hope there's a better way to implement that.
Do you have any suggestion?

Comments

• edited September 2011
    Hi!

That'd be nice. I'm no expert in those kind of UI manipulation and I don't know if there's a portable way to do it. If you ever need to communicate with the display plugin in any way, you can use the config system as a non-intrusive communication channel.

As for the console window, you can easily get rid of it by compiling for subsystem = windows, or something like this (don't remember the exact name). There are ways to redirect the standard and error outputs so that you get access to whatever text orx spits. :)
  • edited September 2011
    I know how to do that on Windows but it' not portable.

I'll check the compilation flag and the way the system redirects it's output so I can see logs into a text control of a pseudo map/animation/level/physic/whateverelse editor.

Many thanks
  • edited September 2011
    Well windows is a good start! :)

Let me know if you encounter any issue, I'm really looking forward seeing what you get! :D

I went the opposite direction for my needs: I built a minimalistic level editor made with orx, and I plan on adding more things like animationg editing, for example.
  • edited September 2011
    Today I try to implement the control. If I reach my goal, I'll give you the source code so you can put it somewhere (if needed by someone else).