DrawCircle causes SIGSEGV

...and here is that other thread. I have a minimal standalone application that creates nothing from config. The only thing added is
orxEvent_AddHandler( orxEVENT_TYPE_RENDER , StandAlone::RenderEventHandler );
and
orxSTATUS orxFASTCALL StandAlone::RenderEventHandler( const orxEVENT* currentEvent )
{
 switch (currentEvent->eID)
 {
  case   orxRENDER_EVENT_START:
   orxVECTOR dotPosition;
   orxVector_Set( &dotPosition, 100, 100, 0 );
   orxSTATUS status = orxDisplay_DrawCircle( &dotPosition, orxFLOAT(100), orx2RGBA(0xFF, 0x00, 0x00, 0xFF), orxTRUE );
   break;
  }
  return orxSTATUS_SUCCESS;
}
I'm very new to debugging using gdb mainly via codelite. This SIGSEGV is somewhat illusive... it will always happen after orxDisplay_DrawCircle, if I step into it and go line for line there is a loop where I might try to set a breakpoint after and then press continue. This might or might not raise the SIGSEGV, more often than not but at this point something else happens, probably unrelated to the first issue, my spotify client starts to get intermingled with the current debugging process not in a completly clear way but it will stop and start at random when I step in the source or press continue and so on, also if spotify is lagging it might cause my orxapp to halt. The only thing I can think of is a terrible bug in the alsa somewhere. However... after the loop I step into orxDisplay_GLFW_DrawPrimitive and it is the same here, that it will work if I carefully step over everything but if I apparently recklessly set a breakpoint a few lines further down the source it is a hight risk that it will raise the SIGSEGV. Anyway in the end I come to glDrawArrays where it allays will raise the SIGSEGV when I try to step into it.

Could that be because gdb doesn't know where to find the source that contains glDrawArrays and just runs through the program without stepping in assembler instead?