Why orx use ini as configure file not xml?

edited July 2013 in General discussions
Why orx use ini as configure file not xml? I am new to orx :)

Comments

• jimjim
    edited July 2013
    Hey, welcome here :) I dont know the exact cause, but there are many. What I feel is editing xml files is a bit cumbersome. I have used xml for other projects, and they are really pain if you are to edit them manually. I find ini files much straight forward and easy to edit them as text files.

XML is good if you are using any editing tool or editing them using other programs. On the other hand, understanding ini is no problem at all. They are much simpler than xml

Parsing xml is more complex than parsing ini files. Hence parsing xml is slower than parsing ini. Ini files are more readable than xml, which I find a bit alien to read as text.

So, xml is good for storing complex data structure where you have to maintain a hierarchy of some sort. Ini is good for simpler stuff.
  • edited July 2013
    Hi nowolfer and welcome here! :)

Jim already summed it up pretty well: I believe INI format to be easier to read and edit and its syntax, being very straightforward, makes it prefect for writing a custom parser and extend the format with features such as inheritance, for example.

That being said, there's an api to modify all the config content at runtime so one can write his/her own serialization in any format.

Don't hesitate if you have any other questions! :)
  • edited July 2013
    Hey jim :) Thank you for your reply. I just wonder if ini file can be use for complex situation such as scene contain layer, layer contain actor(or object?) and have properties at the same time. Meanwhile why not json? :huh:
  • edited July 2013
    What do you means of modify the config content at runtime, store in xml then read ini ways, or store in ini then format in xml?
    iarwain wrote:
    Hi nowolfer and welcome here! :)