TexturePacker / Rotation

edited January 2015 in General discussions
I've been playing around with Orx and testing some things and one issue I hit was that there is no support for rotated sprites in a texture atlas. With our current tech sprites have a bool flag "rotated" and if true than we uv based on a rotated rect.

This is something that I need to support and so I'm wondering where the best place to do this would be, and considering I'm still brand new to the codebase is this the correct approach? Basically flag if the texture region is rotated and if so UV differently... or is there a better way I'm not thinking of that avoids the branch and/or is cleaner?

Thanks!

Comments

• edited January 2015
    Hi Joe. I assume this is for sprites on your sheet turned sideways to save space?

Right now you could only rotate the object that uses the rotated graphic but that's not really the same.

There's a FLIP property under the GraphicTemplate. I can imagine a ROTATED = true|false property would be handy.
  • edited January 2015
    I would welcome this too. We've rotated sprites in the sprite sheets, too.

edit: Maybe you could shader as workaround for now?
  • edited January 2015
    sausage that's exactly what I'm using this for as I have some very tightly packed sprite sheets. With our current tech I just export from TP if it is rotated (i.e. like in the JSON/Cocos exporter) and then I rotated via UVs rather than rotating the actual object itself. Sure I could just work around and store a bool and if true start rotation at -90deg but I'd rather have proper support, hence the reason I was thinking of building this in and looking at the best practice for doing so as it adds a branch to UV recalculation.
  • edited January 2015